Administrative Setup

General Administration

Ayodhya division consists of five districts namely- Amethi,Ambedkarnagar,Barabanki,Ayodhya and Sultanpur and is headed by the Divisional Commissioner of Ayodhya. The Commissioner is the head of local government institutions in the division; is in-charge of infrastructure development in his division; and is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the division.

Ayodhya district administration is headed by the District Magistrate of Ayodhya. The DM is assisted by a Chief Development Officer (CDO) and Additional District Magistrates(ADMs), viz. ADM(F&R), ADM(City), City Magistrate and Chief Revenue Officer (CRO).
The district is divided into 5 sub-divisions and 11 development blocks. Each sub-division headed by a Sub Divisional magistrate(SDMs).

Police Administration

Ayodhya district comes under the Lucknow Police Zone and Ayodhya Police Range. Ayodhya Range consists of five districts viz. Ayodhya, Ambedkar Nagar, Barabanki, Sultanpur and Amethi. Ayodhya Range is headed by Deputy Inspector General(DIG).

The district police is headed by Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), who is assisted by Superintendent of Police (SP) viz.(SP City, SP Rural Area, SP Suraksha) and Additional Superintendent of Police (ASP).